Subscriptions to African Business
Full refund within 30 days if you're not completely satisfied.
page:
contents page
previous next
zoom out zoom in
thumbnails double page single page large double page
fit width
clip to blog
click to zoom in Call +33144308111 Call +442077137970 Go to page 45 Call +33144308100 Go to page 24 Send email to o.benyedder@africasia.com Call +442077137711 Go to page 72 Go to page 30 Go to page 43 Open www.icpublications.com Send email to n.rosefield@africasia.com Send email to benyedder@africasia.com Go to page 52 Go to page 48 Go to page 12 Send email to subscriptions@africasia.com Send email to c.casades@africasia.com Send email to icpubs@africasia.com Open www.africasia.com Go to page 24 Go to page 50 Go to page 60 Go to page 74 Send email to m.penton@africasia.com Go to page 11 Send email to info@icpublications.com Open WWW.AFRICASIA.COM Go to page 70 Go to page 54 Go to page 73 Send email to a.jones@africasia.com Send email to a.assad@africasia.com Call +442077137898 Go to page 34 Call +442077137898 Call +442077137711 Go to page 56 Send email to s.manneh@africasia.com Go to page 62 Go to page 57 Go to page 55 Send email to c.tyrell@africasia.com Go to page 58 Go to page 12 click to zoom in
page:
contents page
previous next
zoom out zoom in
thumbnails double page single page large double page
fit width
clip to blog

Foresighted,

Creative,

Analytical !

These are just some of the characteristics describing our consultants, who work towards one objective: achieving what’s best for our customers. Ever-increasing technological complexity and the growing dependence of business models on information and telecommunications technologies will affect your company even more in the future than they do today. Using our unique combination of management and technical expertise we can provide you with solutions for tomorrow’s business today. DESIGNING FUTURE BUSINESS

www.detecon.com info@detecon.com United Kingdom IC PuBlICATIoNS, 7 ColdBATh SquAre, loNdoN eC1r 4lq. Tel: +44 20 7713 7711 Fax: Admin +44 20 7713 7898 editorial: +44 20 7713 7970 e-mail: icpubs@africasia.com Website: www.africasia.com

France IC PuBlICATIoNS, 609 BAT A 77 rue BAYeN 75017 PArIS Tel: +33 1 44 30 81 00 Fax: +33 1 44 30 81 11 e-mail: info@icpublications.com Website: www.icpublications.com

Contents

AUGUST/SEPTEMBER 2007

Group Publisher: Afif Ben Yedder (benyedder@africasia.com)

Editor: Anver Versi (a.versi @africasia.com) Editorial Department Associate Editor Tom Nevin Correspondent-at-large Stephen Williams Editorial Assistant Carole Lambert Production Manager Christine Tyrell (c.tyrell@africasia.com) Correspondents in Africa Barnabas Thondlana, Leo Odera Omolo, Blamuel Njururi, Herald Tigama, Pini Jason, Rob Rose, John Ansah, Derek Otieno, Chris Ndivanga, Masupu Rakabane Special Correspondents Milan Vesely, Moin Siddiqi, Dr Karamo Sonko, Neil Ford, Franççois Misser, Graeme Ewens, Pini Jason, Eluem Izezi, Jennie Street, Paul Michaud

Sales and Marketing Associate Group Publisher: Omar Ben Yedder (o.benyedder@africasia.com) Director of Sales & Marketing: Saliba Manneh (s.manneh@africasia.com) Advertising Sales Directors: Alya Assad (a.assad@africasia.com) Carlota Casades (c.casades@africasia.com) Arthur Jones (a.jones@africasia.com) Nick Rosefield (n.rosefield@africasia.com) Special Projects Consultant: Monique Butt

Distribution Manager Mike Penton (m.penton@africasia.com) Subscriptions: IC Publications Subscriptions Dept Telephone: +44 20 7713 77 11 Fax: +44 20 7713 7898 Email: subscriptions@africasia.com Subscription rates for 11 issues: UK: UK£40.00, Eurozone €80.00, USA US$90.00, Rest of world UK£55.00 Back issues including postage: UK£4.00 (UK), UK£5.00/€7.00/US$8.00 (overseas)

Printers: Headley Brothers Ltd, The Invicta Press, Queens Road, Ashford, Kent, TN24 8HH. Indexed and abstracted in PAIS International and included in one or more of the Informartion Access Company full text reference databases. Microfilms available from Xerox University Microfilms, 399 N. Zeeb Road, Ann Arbor, Michigan 48106, USA. Indexed by UMI/Data Courier, PO Box 327770, Louisville, KY 402322770 USA.

All pictures AFP unless indicated. registered with the British library. ISSN 0141-3929 ©2007 IC Publications Ltd.

12 Cover Story Nigeria’s Grand Plan

24 IT in Africa Africa’s telecom revolution

ISSUE 334 WWW.AFRICASIA.COM

Editorial 11 Well deserved awards for African journalists

Cover Story 2020 Vision 12 Nigeria’s Grand Plan

Special Report IT in Africa 24 Africa’s telecom’s revolution 30 Kuwait giant looks to Africa 34 A TV channel for mobiles

Cityview 43 Hedging your bets

Energy 45 Pros and cons of Bujagali

Travel & tourism 48 Hotel chains wake up to Africa

Transport 52 East Africa’s Waterways

Countryfiles 54 Ghana: Flying with oil 55 Senegal: Dubai takes Dakar stake 56 Nigeria: Oil on troubled waters? 57 Zambia: Westward route to sea 58 Zimbabwe: Crisis is a way of life 60 Mauritius: Tobacco industry hot 62 S Africa: Political muscle flexing?

Reviews Books/Music 70 Drowning in the devil’s filth 72 Books in brief 73 Caine Prize 2007 74 African Virtuoses

Member of The Audit Bureau of Circulations.

50 Transport east Africa’s Waterways